Work becomes locked when it is submitted for evaluation.
If you have not yet evaluated the work submission, an author can cancel his/her submission and unlock the work.
To do this the author will return to the DRF, click on the submitted requirement and then click the Cancel Submission button. This will unlock the student's work so that he/she can continue working.
If you have already submitted an evaluation for the work, only the Evaluation Manager can unlock it.
A designated Evaluation Manager for this program can access the work submission by clicking the View/Edit link from an evaluation grid, to open the View Work page. From there, he/she can click the Send Work Back for Revision button to unlock the work submission. At this point, the padlock icon is no longer visible next to the work, and the student will be able to add more work to this requirement.